Gourmet Spots that Locals Don’t Want You to Know about!

Gourmet Spots that Locals Don’t Want You to Know about!

From Okinawa soba noodles, steak, sea grapes, goya champuru… There isn’t a shortage of food to try in Okinawa. However, there are still more types of food that aren’t very well known. This time, we’d like to introduce you to hidden spots that Okinawan locals recommend. We’ll introduce you to dessert shops that serve the fluffiest shaved ice, restaurants that serve the best local ingredients and Okinawan Agu pork, Okinawan fast food, and even local craft beer. We’re sure that you’ll find something that you’ll love.

Gourmet Spots that Locals!

Matsumoto Fruits and Vegetables – Try their fluffy shaved ice topped with local fruits!

Matsumoto Fruits and Vegetables

Matsumoto Fruits and Vegetables is a store that specializes in shaved ice that opened just last year in Onna-Village, 1 hour from Naha International Airport. As the name implies, they’re known for using Okinawan fruits. The shaved ice topped with their home-made mango, pineapple, or guava syrup is a must-try.

Matsumoto Fruits and Vegetables

What makes good shaved ice, of course, is good ice, and they are very picky. They won’t shave their block of ice straight out of the freezer. They only start shaving the ice after the surface gets a little wet. This way, they can get a softer texture and it apparently causes less brain-freeze. And to make sure the ice melts as soon as it touches your tongue, they shave it as thinly as possible. This causes the finished product to melt really quickly, so it’s recommended that customers eat their order in the store instead of taking it to go.
The beni-imo and jasmine milk tea shaved ice flavors are also very good and worth a try. Their coldpress juice made from local fruits are also quite popular and great for take-out orders. For an extra 500 yen, they can make your shaved ice with ice made from natural spring water from “Shogetsu Himuro” in Nikko.

Matsumoto Fruits and Vegetables

There about 12 seats so you could go in a group. It’s a great spot to relax after swimming or sight-seeing in Onna-Village. There is a beach behind the shop so you could even enjoy a nice walk with a cup of shaved ice or juice in hand. They run a hotel on the second and third floors of the building. You can contact them if you’d like to stay there.

Matsumoto Fruits and Vegetables

30 Nakama, Onna Village, Okinawa
※Temporary closed


Uraniwa – Enjoy Okinawan cuisine that uses plenty of local specialties!

Uraniwa

Uraniwa is a hidden hole in the wall in Onna-Village. Located in the island’s most famous resort area and with great access, they even have a free shuttle service to nearby resorts, so you can enjoy the food and alcohol to your hearts content without having to worry about driving back. The restaurant is very spacious with about 140 seats. The Japanese-style floor seats are also comfortable and comes equipped with low chairs for children. There are menus for children and, of course, kid-sized utensils so you can come enjoy with the entire family.

Uraniwa

This restaurant provides many different kinds of cuisine including Okinawan, Japanese, and Western. Their motto is to “eat from the land” and as such, their dishes use plenty of local ingredients. The most popular of which is probably the Agu pork. The Beni Agu is considered one of the rarest type of Agu pork and is known for its fatty meat that melts in your mouth, and its flavorful red meat. Beni Agu loin grill is best served with Uraniwa’s homemade sauce made with Okinawan shallots and balsamic vinegar. Kume shrimp and Yambaru spring chicken are also available on the grill. They also have different types of champuru, pork belly stew, and other typical Okinawan dishes, sashimi from the local ocean, as well as tropical fruits like mangoes and pineapples. They always have about 30 to 40 different kinds of Awamori in the restaurant, so you should ask the staff for some recommendations to find the perfect Awamori for you.

Uraniwa

The food is great, but so is the music! You can listen to live Okinawan folk music after 7PM. Many visitors dance to the music, so you should make great memories by joining in!

Dining Awamori Bar Uraniwa

256 Huchaku,Onna Village,Okinawa


Ryumi – try Yambaru Agu on a shichirin or shabushabu-style

Ryumi

Ryumi is just a two-minute walk from Kenchomae Monorail Station. Here you can try both the shichirin style and shabushabu style to enjoy your Yambaru Agu pork.. Other than the Agu pork, you can also try the Ryubi pork, fresh Okinawan pork innards, typical Okinawan food, as well as fusion food. The store has a very relaxed atmosphere and even has private rooms with horigotatsu (tatami seats with holes in the middle of the room). And because they offer private rooms, the restaurant is recommended for visitors with some baggage or families with children.

Ryumi

The Yambaru pork from Ganaha Farm has a sweet and rich flavor, but is low on cholesterol and high in nutrients, so it’s quite popular with health-conscious ladies. The stock used for the shabushabu is a simple kelp seaweed soup that lets you enjoy the flavor of the Yambaru pork itself. First, it’s recommend to try with just a bit of salt. The moment the pork enters your mouth, it fills it with Yambaru Agu’s famous sweetness. You can order some vegetables with your meat so you can get some fiber and nutrients with your dish. The lettuce in the shabushabu changes colors so you can enjoy your meal with your eyes too.

Ryumi

When ordering the shichirin, you can get an Agu set to try different parts of the pork. The best part about Yambaru pork is the fact that its fat is just so delicious. For those who love fatty meat, the kalbi is highly recommended, but for those of you who prefer leaner meat, the loin is the best choice. While the food choices are great, you can’t forget about their choices in Awamori, Sake, Shochu, and wine. They have over 100 different kinds of Awamori from 47 different local distilleries. They have a branch in Shinotshin as well and the store has several autographs of famous Japanese actors and comedians on display. Why not go for some Agu pork after shopping at Naha Mainplace?

Ryuu-mi Shabu-shabu cooked on Shichirin Kumojiten

2-1-12 Kumoji, Naha City, Okinawa


Helios Pub – come try some craft beer only available here

Helios pub

The Helios Pub – which opened in 1996 – is run by a brewery, so you can enjoy fresh craft beer. They have Okinawan food as well as dishes that go perfectly with beer made with local ingredients. The all-wood décor of the pub is very nice, and the high ceiling gives it a very open and spacious feeling. The store is right on Kokusai Dori Street, so it is a popular spot for locals and visitors alike.

Helios pub

All regular-sized beer is 500 JPY, 700 JPY for the tall-sized beer, and a 1L German Style beer is 1400 JPY (all of which is tax excluded). The most popular beer at the pub is the Goya Dry, which features a slightly bitter flavor of both the beer and goya, and has received the golden award for the International Beer Competition. Other than that, the Weizen beer, a fruity and rich style of beer from Germany is quite popular at the pub, and also gaining popularity among beer-drinking nations. If you can’t decide what to drink, try the “Otameshi (taster) set” that comes with three beer of your choice. If you’re lucky, you may be able to try some seasonal beer that they only brew a few times a year. They also serve Awamori and cocktails that are perfect for the Okinawan climate.

Helios pub

The head chef goes to buy all the ingredients including fish and meat, and only gets ingredients that pass his strict standards. The fish and chips, and the Agu pork sausage go very well with beer. They also have the typical Okinawan food such as sea grapes and Goya Champuru. They also serve steak and hamburger steak so you could just go there for some hearty meal too even if you’re not into drinking.

Helios pub

1-2-25 Makishi, Naha City, Okinawa


jef – a fast food chain only found in Okinawa

jef

There are tons of burger shops in Okinawa, but the one we’ll be introducing now is one that is born and raised in Okinawa called jef Yonabaru branch. If you’re wondering about what “jef” means, it stands for “Japan Excellent Food”. The Yonabaru branch has 99 seats and the building has large windows that give it a very spacious feel. It’s great for families with children. Of course, you can order in the store, but the drive-in style of ordering is very American and interesting. Park your car in the parking lot and use a special telephone to order your food to eat in your car.

jef

The Nuyaru Burger is jef’s most popular item on the menu. Nuyaru is Okinawan for “what are you doing?!” So what’s in this mysterious burger? It’s pork luncheon meat with scrambled goya slices and eggs. The blend of bitterness from the goya, the mayo flavor, and the salty pork luncheon meat is a surprisingly great match. That being said, the bitterness is almost unnoticeable so it’s easy for people who don’t like goya. The eggs used in the Nuyaru Burger are provided by local farms so you know you’re always eating great fresh eggs.

jef

The Goya Burger is an egg and goya “patty” burger with no meat, and the Jumbo Pork Sandwich – which is sandwiched pork cutlet of 15cm in diameter and coleslaw – are one of the few unique burgers they have on offer. Their fried chicken is also very popular. They get fresh local spring chicken every day, and deep fry them every day by hand. Jef is also famous for their variety of side dishes. They have fries, cookie-fries, mashed potato fries, goya ring, coleslaw, and Caesar salad.

Jef Yonabaru restaurant

467 Ueyonabaru, Yonabaru Town, Okinawa

Other recommended Feature

Search

沖繩在地人嚴選!其實很不想洩漏的私房美食

沖繩在地人嚴選!其實很不想洩漏的私房美食

沖繩有許多著名美食,包括沖繩炒麵、牛排、海葡萄、什錦炒苦瓜等。可是,沖繩還有非常多鮮為人知的極品美食喔。因此這次我們特別請到沖繩在地人來介紹許多私房美食景點。有可以吃到綿密剉冰的甜點店、以大量沖繩食材烹煮的沖繩在地料理及沖繩知名品種阿咕豬肉的店,在沖繩當地起家的速食店、到能夠喝到沖繩精釀啤酒的店家等。您肯定能在這裡找到最對您味的美食!

沖繩在地人嚴選!

使用大量沖繩水果作為配料而聞名的綿密剉冰!「松本青果店」

松本青果店

去年剛開幕的「松本青果店」距離那霸機場約1小時車程,位於度假飯店林立的恩納村國道58號沿線。正如店名「青果店」般,這裡的最有名的就是以大量沖繩水果當配料的剉冰。在芒果、鳳梨、芭樂等當季新鮮水果上淋滿店家特製的糖漿,這樣的剉冰令人讚不絕口。

松本青果店

身為專賣店,當然就是非常講究決定風味的剉冰細密程度。剛從冷凍庫拿出來的冰塊先不使用,在常溫下放置一會兒。等表面稍微溶化時再削冰。據說這樣子剉下來的冰比較綿密,而且吃的時候不容易頭痛。而且店家對剉冰的方法也很講究,為了讓冰的口感變得柔軟、入口即化,所以盡可能剉得細緻一點。也因此一放上盤子就會逐漸溶化,最好是不要外帶,在店裡享用剛做好的美味剉冰喔。
除了水果之外,另外推薦您嚐嚐紅芋或茉莉花茶鮮奶口味。另外沖繩縣產水果的現榨果汁也很有人氣,果汁即使外帶享用也沒問題喔。還有,點剉冰只要再多花500日幣,店家就會使用從日光「松月冰室」進貨的天然水來製作剉冰,千萬不要錯過這項服務喔。

  • 松本青果店

店內有12個座位,就算一群人一起來也OK。據說本店在恩納村唯一可讓觀光客泡完海水浴或觀光時小憩一會兒的珍貴店家。店後方就是大海,可以拿著一碗剉冰或果汁在海邊散步享用。店家的二、三樓都是旅館,因此店家也兼飯店櫃台。如果想知道住宿資訊,可以洽詢看看。

松本青果店

沖繩縣恩納村名嘉真30
※暫停營業


大啖使用大量沖繩產食材的沖繩料理!「Ura庭」

Ura庭

「Ura庭」位於恩納村,是間不起眼的餐廳。座落於縣內首屈一指度假勝地,交通相當方便,提供免費接送服務前往附近的飯店。因此您可以放心地盡情享用美味的酒菜。店內寬闊且座位多達140個,即使人多上門也沒問題。位置寬敞,備有兒童座椅,當然也提供兒童餐具,連菜單上都有兒童餐,因此全家大小都可以安心來此放鬆享用美食。

Ura庭

店裡的宗旨是「地產地銷」,提供大量使用沖繩產食材烹調的沖繩料理、日式、西式創意料理等。其中最受歡迎的食材就是阿咕豬肉,使用的豬肉品種是縣內少見的夢幻品種「紅阿咕」,阿咕豬肉因柔嫩、入口即化的油脂與凝聚美味瘦肉均勻分布的肉質而深獲好評。推薦您點一道燒烤紅阿咕豬肉,是淋滿自家調製的醬汁去烤的。以島韭菜及義大利香醋混和調配的醬汁,能襯托肉質的鮮美。燒烤菜色方面,久米島產日本對蝦或山原嫩雞也很有人氣。另外還有熱炒類、燉三層肉(東坡肉)等必吃料理、以及用沖繩近海現撈鮮魚製作的生魚片拼盤、以芒果或鳳梨等在地水果製作的甜點等,沖繩才吃得到的料理種類豐富、一應俱全。也歡迎您在用餐時嚐嚐泡盛酒的滋味!店裡隨時都準備有30~40種泡盛,請您盡量詢問服務人員推薦的搭配品項,找出您最喜歡的風味吧。

Ura庭

能享受的不只是料理!民謠現場表演也超有受歡迎。每天晚上七點開始都有正統沖繩民謠表演可以免費觀賞。聽了節奏輕快的音樂,不少客人不只拍手,還會跟著跳舞喔。請您務必也一同起舞,當成旅行的珍貴記憶吧。

Dining泡盛Bar URA庭

沖繩縣恩納村冨着256


能同時吃到山原島豬「阿咕豬」涮涮鍋及炭烤料理的「琉味」

琉味

豬肉專賣店「琉味」位於單軌電車縣廳前站步行2分鐘之處。來店裡可以同時吃到山原島豬「阿咕豬」涮涮鍋及炭烤料理。另有單點的菜色如琉美豚、新鮮縣產豬腸等必點沖繩料理及創作料理等,種類豐富。在沉穩舒適的店內空間裡,也提供下方可以伸腳的日式矮桌包廂。包廂空間寬敞,方便行李多、帶小孩的家庭使用。

琉味

山原島豬「阿咕豬」是濃縮了鮮甜風味的那霸畜產,低膽固醇且營養價值高,深受女性饕客喜愛。最能吃到阿咕豬肉原本風味的涮涮鍋湯頭,就是簡單的昆布湯頭。首先我們推薦您沾一點鹽來吃,入口的瞬間,山原島豬「阿咕豬」的甜味會在嘴裡化開。如果再加點一道菜盤,就能同時攝取到大量蔬菜及肉的營養。現在很紅的生菜涮涮鍋,就是把生菜稍微過一下熱湯,可以一邊欣賞生菜變成美麗的綠色,一邊大快朵頤喔。

琉味

要吃炭烤的話,只要點一道綜合拼盤,就能吃到山原島豬「阿咕豬」各部位的肉了。美味的油花就是阿咕豬最大的魅力所在。想要一嚐鮮美肥肉的人,就推薦您吃五花肉,如果不敢吃肥肉,則可以嚐嚐肩里肌。
除了料理之外,菜單上還有各種嚴選的豐富酒類,包括泡盛、日本酒、燒酒、葡萄酒等。泡盛有超過上百種,分別來自縣內47家釀酒場。此外新都心區也開了一家分店——新都心店。店裡布置了許多日本超人氣藝人及演員們的簽名板。去逛完San-A Naha Main Place之後,可以順道光顧飽餐一頓喔。

豬肉涮涮鍋炭爐燒肉琉味久茂地店

沖繩縣那霸市久茂地2-1-12


只有「Helios pub」才喝得到現榨精釀啤酒

Helios pub

來到1996年開幕的「Helios pub」,就可以享用到啤酒廠直營店特有的新鮮現榨精釀啤酒。除了使用島上蔬菜及縣產食材製作、最適合下酒的餐點之外,這裡也吃得到一般沖繩料理。店內統一以木紋裝潢,天花板挑高,營造出具有十足開放感的空間。面對國際通,地理位置絕佳,自開幕之後不僅吸引觀光客前來,也陸續吸引一些當地熟客,成為超有人氣的店家。

Helios pub

所有啤酒都能自行選擇大小,一般容量定價500日幣(未稅)、大容量定價700日幣(未稅)、德國風格1L定價1400日幣(未稅)。其中最受歡迎的啤酒就是得過國際啤酒比賽(The International Beer Competition)金獎、風味爽口的「苦瓜DRY」。先嚐到啤酒花特有的苦味後,苦瓜獨特的清爽甘苦味就會在嘴裡擴散開來。此外還有德式啤酒「Weizen」,以小麥麥芽與活酵母菌釀造,水果香氣與溫潤醇厚口感為其特色,即使在啤酒盛行的國度也是一款受歡迎的啤酒。如果您很猶豫不知該喝什麼好,就推薦您點可以任選三種喜愛啤酒的「試喝組合」。此外,這裡每年都會推出幾次期間限定的當季啤酒。如果恰好躬逢其盛,那真的很幸運。除了啤酒之外,泡盛以及沖繩風雞尾酒的種類也不少喔。

Helios pub

料理用的食材非常講究,都是大廚親自出門採購,連魚、肉都要親自嚐過認可後才採用。炸魚薯條、阿咕豬肉長條香腸都非常適合當下酒菜,是超人氣料理。當然您也吃得到海葡萄或什錦炒苦瓜等最具代表性的沖繩料理。還有牛排、漢堡排等份量滿滿的菜色,請務必來店裡用餐,保證能讓您心滿意足。

Helios pub

沖繩縣那霸市牧志1-2-25


只有沖繩獨有的速食店「jef」

jef

沖繩有許多漢堡店,這次要推薦給各位的漢堡店,是沖繩土生土長的「jef」與那原店。這麼特殊的店名,是取自「japan Excellent food」的第一個字母,意指日本的超讚食物。店裡環繞大片窗戶,營造出開放的空間感,全部共99個座位,也有兒童用座位,因此帶小孩消費的家庭旅客也能安心用餐。除了可以在店裡點餐之外,直接在車裡點餐後帶著走的得來速也備受矚目。他們的得來速走美式風格,是把車子停在停車場之後以專用電話點餐,店員就會專程將餐點送到車上了。

jef

最受歡迎的菜色是「Nu—yaru漢堡」。Nu—yaru在沖繩方言中的意思是「這是什麼啊!」,內餡包括了用切絲苦瓜與雞蛋煎成的烘蛋狀漢堡排、大量豬午餐肉、外層以芝麻漢堡麵包夾起。美奶滋與起司的甜味可以中和苦瓜的苦味,跟豬午餐肉的鹹味搭配得恰到好處。整個漢堡幾乎吃不出苦味,不敢吃苦瓜的人也能吃喔。Nu—yaru漢堡所使用的雞蛋與苦瓜都是沖繩縣自產食材,讓您隨時吃得到新鮮好滋味。

jef

除了Nu—yaru漢堡之外,還有完全沒包肉,僅用苦瓜加雞蛋製成漢堡排的「苦瓜漢堡」。以及夾了直徑15cm豬排肉的「Jambo豬肉三明治」等,風味獨特的漢堡應有盡有。此外,使用縣產嫩雞製作的炸雞也超受歡迎。提供您手工現炸的每日新鮮嫩雞。此外,副餐菜色選擇豐富,也是jef的特色之一。薯條、薯片、薯餅、苦瓜圈、涼拌捲心菜、凱撒沙拉等,有多種口味可供選擇。

Jef 與那原店

沖繩縣與那原町上與那原467

其他推薦特集

店舗検索