Outstanding experiences for kids! How to get the most out of Okinawa Churaumi Aquarium

Outstanding experiences for kids! How to get the most out of Okinawa Churaumi Aquarium

Okinawa Churaumi Aquarium is located in Northern Okinawa, at the easternmost point of Motobu peninsula. After a major renovation in 2002, it has become a popular destination.

Okinawa Churaumi Aquarium

The aquarium attracts people of all ages. Colorful tropical fish swimming among the coral make a relaxing scene for adults, but we have some ideas and tips to get your kids excited.

inoh

Upon entering the aquarium, you will notice the live Okinawan shoal display called “Life in Inoh (Touch Pool).”

Inoh, which, in the Okinawan dialect refers to the coral reef and the life within when it is exposed by the tide.

starfishes

The display consists of the wide variety of sea life attracted to the corals within Inoh. The reason this is called a live display is that you can actually touch the starfishes or sea cucumbers. There are blue, slender or beautifully shaped starfishes in the mini shoal pool.

Kids might be afraid of touching the sea creatures at first, but their enthusiasm grows with each contact.

The next exciting spot is one of the largest fish tanks in the world “The Kuroshio Sea”.

Kuroshio Sea

You might want to stay there for a long time watching two huge whale sharks majestically swimming through massive acrylic panel. Manta rays, tunas and many other unique fishes will also captivate you.

There is a secret to getting the most out of the area called “Journey to the Kuroshio.” We suggest you to follow the “Exploring the Kuroshio Sea Tank.” You can watch fish in the huge tank from the top.

Journey to the Kuroshio

8:30am~11:00am (Last admission 10:45am),5:30pm~Aquarium closes (Last admission is until 15min before the aquarium closes), there is a free access to the top of the tank from the elevator near “The Kuroshio Sea” on the first floor.

There is an acrylic panel deck on top of the tank for a gripping view! The sight of the whale sharks from above reminds you how small you are. It is a great experience for kids. *Please do not forget to keep your eyes on your kids.

Let’s observe fish from the bottom next.

Aqua room

It was a splendid view from the top, wasn’t it? Another great view of The Kuroshio Sea is available from the “Aqua Room.” If you’re lucky, you run into the situation in which rays swim over you on the clear dome shaped roof! Some people compare their way of sliding across the dome to kids playing in the park.

Even if you do not see the sliding manta rays, the sight of them, gliding through the water right in front of or right above you is truly impressive. It is very common to see people standing in open-mouthed amazement.

Journey into the Deep Sea

The deep-water area called “Journey into the Deep Sea” comes just after exciting Aqua Room. Many don’t realize that the entire aquarium is constructed in stages from shallows to deep-ocean! The entrance is on the 3rd floor and the exit from 1st. As you make your way down through the depths, you learn more about ocean’s wildlife as if on a slow dive downward.

In this area, the unique creatures of the deep – some flashing like fireflies – can be marveled at and are so absorbing that kids can’t turn away.


How was your trip through the aquarium? We can’t say enough about Okinawa Churaumi Aquarium here. There are lots more! The great memories you make with your loved ones here won’t fade away. Don’t forget to make a memory medal (*fee required) with dates and names at the exit before you leave.

Other recommended Feature

Search

緊緊抓住小朋友的心!沖繩美麗海水族館攻略法

緊緊抓住小朋友的心!沖繩美麗海水族館攻略法

位於沖繩縣北部向西側延伸的半島―本部半島前端的「沖繩美麗海水族館」,自從2002年改裝開幕以來,一直是個廣受許多遊客喜愛的水族館。

沖繩美麗海水族館

從大朋友到小朋友都能玩得開心,正是這座水族館的魅力所在。五彩斑斕的魚兒們地悠游的模樣、從珊瑚礁裡稍稍探出頭來的姿態等等,絕對能夠療癒遊客的心。 這次要介紹的是讓小朋友樂翻天的攻略法。

inoh

一走進沖繩美麗海水族館,首先迎接我們的是重現沖繩淺灘海域風貌的「イノー (inoh) 的生物們(觸模池)」。

在珊瑚礁環繞的イノー (inoh)「イノー」為沖繩方言,意指淺灘海域)裡棲息的生物眾多。珊瑚礁周邊聚集著許多魚類和海星,而這個展區的特點,就是可以直接碰觸海星和海參等生物。舉凡藍色細海星、或是呈現完整五角型的海星等,都可在水族箱裡觸摸到。

海星

這個可以和海洋生物直接接觸的展區,非常受小朋友歡迎。小朋友們起初或許會有點害怕,但海洋生物奇妙的觸感,一定會讓他們摸過就著迷。

下一個參觀重點是「黑潮之海」,這個世界最大級的水族箱是沖繩美麗海水族館不可錯過的景點之一。

黑潮之海

望著3條鯨鯊在水中悠游的身姿,或許會讓人在不知不覺間忘了時間!另外還可欣賞鬼蝠魟和鰹魚等各種魚兒水中游的姿態。

黑潮之旅區的攻略重點是黑潮探險(水上遊覽行程)。這項行程,竟然可以讓遊客從正上方欣賞世界最大等級的水族箱。

黑潮探險

在8:30~11:00(10:45前入場),17:30~閉館(閉館15分前入場)的時段,遊客都可以搭乘在1樓「黑潮之海」附近的電梯前往水族箱上方參觀

水族箱的上方設有橋和透明壓克力板,看起來震撼力十足!從水族箱正上方俯瞰的鯨鯊,其體型之大應該會讓大人也都不禁為之激動。這項行程對小朋友而言是個無可取代的特殊體驗,但在本區跑跳衝撞會造成危險,敬請家長隨時留意,切勿讓孩童離開視線範圍。

從上方看過黑潮之海,接下來再試著從下方往上瞧瞧吧!

Aqua room

透過巨大壓克力板欣賞的景致十分壯觀,但再往前走,從海洋觀賞區(Aqua room)仰望的「黑潮之海」也不容錯過。

運氣好的話,在海洋觀賞區(Aqua room)可看得到魟魚。它會在半球型的天花板上,像溜滑梯似地滑過的情况!牠們從上往下滑過之後,又會再回到上方往下滑的模樣,簡直就像是在公園玩耍的小朋友。魚兒們逗趣的姿態,會讓您不禁莞爾一笑。 即使沒看到魟魚在水中滑,直逼眼前的鬼蝠魟和鯨鯊也極具震撼力。在這裡常常會看到小朋友們因為看得入神而目瞪口呆地站在原地!

走過「海洋觀賞區(Aqua room)」之後,來到的是深海之旅區。您發現了嗎?沒錯,這座水族館正是以由淺灘海域逐步潛入深海的概念所打造而成,因此水族館的入口處才會設置在3樓,出口則是位在1樓,讓遊客在往下走的同時遊遍全館。

深海之旅

在深海之旅區中,可以遇見許多平常看不到的深海的生物,像是外觀奇特的魚類、還有像螢火蟲般發光的魚兒,讓小朋友們看得興味盎然。


您是否喜歡這次介紹的內容呢? 沖繩美麗海水族館當中,還有許多無法在此一一介紹的精彩之處。與家人在這裡留下的美好回憶,將會永不褪色! 最後別忘了作個可刻上日期姓名的紀念幣(收費)!

其他推薦特集

店舗検索