6 Spots to Check Out when Exploring Shuri – a Must-See Area in Okinawa

6 Spots to Check Out when Exploring Shuri – a Must-See Area in Okinawa

You’ll find Shuri in Naha-City, the cultural and economic center of Okinawa. There are many places for tourists to visit in Shuri. Visitors can experience and learn about Okinawa’s history at the World Heritage of Shuri Castle, the Stone Steps of Shuri, or in the workshops of a traditional textile factory. Of course, there are plenty of gourmet spots for the foodie in your group. We’ll introduce you to 6 spots where you can try Okinawa’s unique foamy tea, as well as a restaurant where foodies can enjoy Gold Agu Pork – a renowned brand of pork from Okinawa. Start exploring Shuri on foot once you get off the monorail at Shuri Station!

Shurijo Castle – The Vermilion Symbol of Okinawa

Shurijo Castle

Shurijo Castle is a place you should visit at least once on your vacation in Okinawa. This 11th World Heritage Site of Japan sits upon a hill overlooking the city of Naha. The castle is encircled by walls made of Ryukyuan Limestone. The enormous curved walls measure 6 to 15 meters in height, and approximately 1080 meters in total length. During the Battle of Okinawa, the entire building was burned down, but was restored in 1992. The structures vermilion color embodies the history of Okinawa. You can learn a lot of Okinawa’s rich history as visitors may enter the main hall of the castle. The castle is lit up at night and it appears as though an unreal vision.

Shureimon Gate

To get into the castle, visitors must pass the Shureimon Gate and walk up a slight incline. The Shureimon Gate was built between 1527 and 1555 and was rebuilt in 1985 as it had been destroyed during the Battle of Okinawa. The characters you see written on the gate says “Shurei no Kuni,” which roughly translates to “Ryukyu, the land of civility”. If you want to take a photo of the gate, it would be best to go early in the morning since the gate attracts may tourists. They also have a paid photography service where you can take a picture of the gate wearing vibrant Ryukyuan kimono. There are many kimonos to choose from so you might have trouble deciding. Make ever-lasting memories of your trip by taking a photo here!

Shurijo Castle

1-2 Syuri Kinjyocho, Naha City, Okinawa


Tamaudun – the Mausoleum of Ryukyuan Kings and Registered World Heritage

Tamaudun

200 meters from Shureimon and surrounded by greenery is the Tamaudun. It is the mausoleum of past Ryukyuan Kings. There are three sections of the tomb. The eastern chamber is where the king and queen’s cleaned bones were placed, the central chamber was where the bodies of the deceased royal rested until it was time for their bones to be cleaned, and finally, the western chamber was where the bones of other important members of the royal family were kept. There is a small museum on the first basement floor under the ticketing booth. Your visit would be more interesting if you stop by and read some documents regarding the mausoleum.

Tamaudun

1-3 Syuri Kinjyocho, Naha City, Okinawa


The Stone Steps of Shurikinjo-Cho – Feel the Rich History of Okinawa

Shurikinjo-cho Stone-Path Road

The Stone Steps of Shurikinjo-Cho is about a 5 minute walk from Shurijo Castle. This is a great spot for those who want to really feel like they’re in Okinawa. This is a prefecture-designated historic site and was chosen as one of the 100 most beautiful streets of Japan. The stone-laid path was constructed around 1522 and is about 4 meters wide and 300 meters long. The stone used for the path is the Ryukyuan limestone and individual blocks are laid in a random fashion. This is why we recommend you to visit with comfortable shoes for your safety. Ryukyuan limestone is very slippery when wet, so please be careful when you’re visiting on a rainy day.

Giant Bishop Wood

You can get to the Giant Bishop Wood of Shurikinjo-cho after a 6 minute walk from the Stone Steps. Long ago, Shuri was full of these trees, but most of these were burned down during the Battle of Okinawa. Here, visitors can see the last few that miraculously managed to survive the fires of war. The Giant Bishop Wood, the oldest of the group, at 20 meters in height and 4 meters in diameter, is estimated to be over 200 years old. The tree is absolutely majestic and impresses visitors who look up from the roots. The area surrounded by these trees are known as a spiritual power spot where you can feel the divine mood.

Kanagusuku Muraya

There is a free resting area when going down the Stone Steps of Shurikinjo-cho. The building is called the Kanagusuku Muraya and has traditional Okinawan red tiles used on the roof. The Stone Steps are quite steep, so this is a great place to rest if you’re tired from all the exploring especially since the banyan tree in front of the house casts a nice shade. There is a Hatagashira (the upper portion of a flag used in ceremonies) on display inside as well. The house is usually used as the gathering place for the neighborhood association but is open to the public when not in use, and even has a smoking area, a restroom, and a vending machine.

The Stone Steps of Shurikinjo-Cho

Syuri Kinjyocho, Naha City, Okinawa


Shuri Ryusen – Make Your Very Own Trinket Using Coral

SHURI RYUSEN Okinawa Traditional Textile Studio

Shuri Ryusen is a 10 minute walk away from Shurijo Castle. Here, visitors can try their hands at bingata textile dyeing, and even coral dyeing which is the store’s original way of dyeing Okinawan textile. The building is a Japanese style steep-roofed construction, which is quite rare for Okinawa, but blends in nicely with the aesthetics of Shuri with its traditional vibe. There is a studio where you can watch craftsmen work on their trade. The staff will guide you through the workshop in English, so you can take part in it even if you don’t speak Japanese.

The coral dying workshop

The bingata textile dyeing workshop is a simple one where you use a brush to color an A4 sized hemp cloth with traditional bingata patterns. The coral dying workshop is a popular experience you can only do here at Shuri Ryusen. Participants dye T-shirts, wrapping cloth, cotton towels, hand bags and other such items on differently-shaped calcified coral. The coral being used are ones that the owners found beached after a typhoon over 40 years ago. The four basic colors used are yellow, red, blue, and purple. You can use just one color or make your very own combination to personalize your item. The great thing about these personalized items is that you can take them home with you on the day of. The workshop itself only takes about 30 to 40 minutes, so you could stop by when you have some free time. There’s also no time limit, so you can take as long as you want, if you’d rather go slowly. It does get busy around noon, so you should make a reservation when you’re thinking about going around that time.

SHURI RYUSEN Okinawa Traditional Textile Studio

Shuri Ryusen sells products made by the craftsmen on the first floor of the building. Coral represents happiness, prosperity, and longevity so they make for great gifts. Tissue holders and handkerchiefs are hot-sellers as they are easy to carry around. You may want to consider getting one for yourself or your friends back home!

SHURI RYUSEN Okinawa Traditional Textile Studio

1-54 Syuri Yamakawacho, Naha City, Okinawa


Eating White Foam?! Koto Shuri Kari Specializes in Okinawan Bukubuku (Foamy) Tea

Buku Buku tea specialty shop Old Capital Shuri Kari

Bukubuku Tea Specialist Koto Shuri Kari is about a 5 minute walk from Shuri Castle. In this popular tea shop, visitors can order the traditional Okinawan foamy tea and even make their own foam. It’s especially popular with people exploring Shuri by foot as a place for them to sit down and relax. The name of the store, Kari, comes from the Okinawan word that means “bringing good fortune”. Also, Bukubuku, the Japanese onomatopoeia for “foamy” is phonetically similar to the Japanese word fuku, which means luck. This is why the people of Ryukyu Dynasty era drank this tea before ships set sail, and other such celebratory events. The store is filled with pottery and tea-related products that might be suitable for souvenirs, so visitors can enjoy their time while they wait for their tea to be served too.

Buku Buku tea

First, you will get a large wooden bowl filled with tea specifically for foaming. You’ll use the tea whisk to foam that up. Try to beat the tea as if you’re trying to blend air into it. After a while, your bowl will be full of fluffy foam. You’ll take that foam and put it on the tea that you’re going to drink. Pick up the tea cup with both hands and drink the tea while eating the foam. The reason why the tea foams up is because the water from Kakinohana Spring is hard, and full of minerals. The well has also been selected as one of 100 best water sources of Japan and its water is said to be good for health. There are 11 types of tea to choose from – the brown rice and jasmine tea being the most popular. Other types include herbal tea, shell ginger, hibiscus, lemongrass, and many more.

Buku Buku tea

Tea sets come with chinsuko cookies, taro pie, kumpen confectionery, and fruit that go so well with the tea. There are lots of visitors who drop by after seeing Shurijo Castle. International visitors can even wear an Okinawan kimono while they have their tea to really get to know Okinawa’s culture (reservation required). Don’t forget to check this foamy tea when visiting Okinawa mainland.

Buku Buku tea specialty shop Old Capital Shuri Kari

9 Shuri Ikehatacho, Naha City, Okinawa


Iroha-tei – Enjoy Authentic Okinawan Cuisine

Iroha-tei

Iroha-tei is a restaurant where visitors can enjoy authentic Okinawan cuisine made with local ingredients. It is a must-go for those exploring Shuri. The renovated home-turned-restaurant is very relaxing and is just a 10 minute walk away from Shurijo Castle. The restaurant actively makes menus with local ingredients and has been officially recognized by the prefecture as an “Okinawa Ingredients Restaurant.”

Shurei Dinner

The owner and chef go to buy the ingredients everyday, and if they find something interesting, it’ll get added to the dish of the day. They use seasonal ingredients, so the menu is different depending on what time of year you visit. The Shurei Dinner is a popular item on the dinner menu which includes 14 different types of dishes such as fu champuru (gluten stir-fry), tuna tartare and Okinawan shallot, and pork belly. You can taste all that Okinawa has to offer with this one item. The pork belly is Okinawan Beni pork. Its meat is so juicy and soft that it melts in your mouth. The meat is left cooking for two days straight, and its miso flavoring is difficult to find anywhere else in Okinawa because it takes so much time and effort to make. The tuna and Okinawan shallot tartare is a flavored with black pepper. Its slightly spicy taste goes very well with alcoholic drinks. The restaurant keeps their liquor cabinets well-stocked and you can get pretty much every brand of Okinawan awamori. You can choose to drink from yachimun (Okinawan pottery) or Ryukyu glass. The yachimun plates used to serve your meal is also worth paying attention to.

Iroha-tei

The renovated house-turned-restaurant is very spacious, which makes it ideal for small groups or even families with small children. The veranda gives you a nice view of the garden, and the hole-in-the-wall atmosphere of the restaurant is very cozy and will make you not want to leave. There are 15 parking spots available, so driving to the restaurant is a viable option too.

Okinawa Cuisine Shuri Iroha-tei

3-34-5 Syuri Kinjyocho, Naha City, Okinawa


How did you like the list? There are still plenty of intriguing places in Shuri. Try to look for your own favorite spot in Shuri too.

Other recommended Feature

Search

沖繩觀光不可或缺的首里散步!為您推薦6大景點

首里位於沖繩的中心地帶-那霸市。首里存在許多值得體驗與學習,以及接觸沖繩歷史的觀光景點,包括已登錄為世界遺產的首里城、石板路和體驗手染製品的老店等。不只是有觀光景點而已,當然也有豐富的美食。像是可以喝到沖繩獨特白色泡泡茶的店,以及提供沖繩代表名牌豬肉-金阿古豬肉的餐廳等,以下就為您介紹首里的6大推薦景點。搭乘單軌電車到終點首里下車之後,展開首里的散步之旅吧!

色彩鮮艷的朱紅色外觀,象徵著沖繩的「首里城」

首里城

來到沖繩,一定要造訪一次首里城。位於高地上可一覽那霸市區景觀,已登錄為日本第11項世界遺產。首里城被曲線般的城牆圍繞,利用琉球石灰岩的切石建築而成。總長度約1,080公尺,高度約6~15公尺,造訪此地的人,皆能感受其雄偉之姿。1945年,在沖繩戰役中,受到美軍的轟炸,所有建築物全部燒毁,後來才在1992年加以復原。鮮艷的朱紅色外觀,確實地傳達了沖繩的歷史英姿。首里城正殿內部也開放參觀,可充份接觸沖繩的歷史。日落之後點燈的夜間首里城,呈現出夢幻般的景象,有別於白天,展現出另一種樣貌。

守禮門

登上緩坡穿過守禮門,前往首里城。守禮門建立於1527年~1555年前後,曾經在沖繩戰役中燒毁,後來又在1985年復原。門的上方掛著「守禮之國」的匾額,代表琉球是個重視禮節的國家。守禮門前總是聚滿觀光客,若想拍攝空景建議趁著清晨人少的時候前往。附近還有照相館,可以穿上琉球王朝時代色彩鮮艷的服裝之後拍照(需付費)。服裝的種類相當多,可能會讓人不知如何挑選。推薦您務必以守禮門為背景,留下值得回憶的相片!

首里城公園

那霸市首里金城町1-2

首里城公園
沖繩縣那霸市首里金城町1-2
地圖資料
地圖資料©2018 Google, ZENRIN
地圖資料地圖資料©2018 Google, ZENRIN
地圖資料©2018 Google, ZENRIN
這個網頁無法正確載入 Google 地圖。
Do you own this website?

登錄世界遺產的歷代琉球國王長眠之墓「玉陵」

玉陵

玉陵距離首里城守禮門西側200公尺,四周有綠樹圍繞。這裡是琉球王朝的王族長眠之墓。陵墓分成3個區域,東室安置的是經過撿骨之後的國王與王妃遺骨,中室是安置撿骨之前的遺體,西室則是安置其他的家族遺骨。入口售票處的地下1樓還有資料館,一開始先到此參觀,可以更加深入了解。

玉陵

沖繩縣那霸市首里金城町1-3

玉陵
沖繩縣那霸市首里金城町1-3
地圖資料
地圖資料©2018 Google, ZENRIN
地圖資料地圖資料©2018 Google, ZENRIN
地圖資料©2018 Google, ZENRIN
這個網頁無法正確載入 Google 地圖。
Do you own this website?

能感受沖繩歷史的「首里金城町石板路」

首里金城町石板路

「首里金城町的石板路」距離首里城步行約5分鐘。想要感受沖繩特有風情的人,絕對不能錯過這個景點。這裡是沖繩縣的指定史跡,也入選為日本道路100選之一。以琉球石灰岩舖設的石板路,建造於1522年時期,長度300公尺,寬度有4公尺。路面舖設的石板,是以大小不一的琉球石灰岩組合而成,地面較不平坦,建議穿著好走的鞋子到此散步較為安全。琉球石灰岩被雨淋濕之後變得更加光滑,天氣不好的時候,在此散步請小心腳步。

大茄苳樹

由石板路再往前走6分鐘左右,就可以抵達首里金城的大茄苳樹。以往,首里有許多自然生長的茄苳樹,但都在沖繩戰役中被燒毁了。在此可以看到躲過戰火,奇跡般存活下來的幾株茄苳樹。其中最為古老的大茄苳樹,推測樹齡已有200年以上,高度約20公尺,樹幹直徑有4公尺以上。由根部往上仰望大茄苳樹,可以感受到它那巍峨聳立之姿。樹木所圍成的空間,散發著一股神秘而神聖的氣氛,因此成為備受注目的自然能量場。

金城村屋

沿著首里金城町石板路往下走,有一座沖繩傳統紅磚建築,名為「金城村屋」,是處免費休息所。由於石板路的坡度較陡,在首里散步途中如果覺得累,建議到這個金城村屋休息一下。房屋前方的石板路旁有細葉榕樹,發揮了遮陽的效果。屋內有首里金城名為旗頭的棒子。這裡通常是做為居民集會的地方來使用,內部開放一般人使用,設置有吸菸區、洗手間和自動販賣機等。

首里金城町石板路

沖繩縣首里金城町

首里金城町石板路
那霸市首里金城町
地圖資料
地圖資料©2018 Google, ZENRIN
地圖資料地圖資料©2018 Google, ZENRIN
地圖資料©2018 Google, ZENRIN
這個網頁無法正確載入 Google 地圖。
Do you own this website?

用珊瑚製作獨創的工藝品「首里琉染」

首里琉染

「首里琉染」距離首里城步行約10分鐘。可在此體驗首里琉染獨創的珊瑚染與紅型染。建築物是沖繩少見的合掌結構,與首里的街景融合為一體,散發傳統的氣息。店內3樓有附設工作室,可以就近參觀工匠的手藝。工作人員能用英語說明體驗活動的流程,不懂日語也可以放心。

珊瑚染體驗

紅型染體驗是在A4尺寸的麻布上,用筆染出紅型圖案,相當簡單。珊瑚染體驗則是只有在首里琉染才能體驗到的熱門課程。從T恤或布巾、手帕、托特包等品項中挑選出布料後,利用珊瑚化石的斷面進行染色。珊瑚的化石大小不一,所使用的化石之中,甚至有距今超過40年以上,被颱風打上海灘的化石。基本的染色有黃、紅、藍、紫等4種顏色。可以用單色染製,也可以任意組合不同的顏色,呈現出具有獨創性的色彩。完成後,一定會對專屬於自己的獨創藝品之美,感到愛不釋手。體驗課程之後,可以立刻將作品帶回家,也是其一大魅力。體驗時間約30〜40分鐘,剛好適合短暫的空檔。沒有特別的時間限制,可以配合自己的步調慢慢製作。午餐前後的時段較為擁擠,建議事先預約後再前往。

首里琉染

1樓的商店裡,陳列著在3樓工作室所染製的各項獨創商品。珊瑚含有「幸福、子孫繁榮、長壽」等3種含意,適合做為魄贈禮品。熱門的商品有面紙袋與手帕等方便攜帶的物品。不妨選購做為自用或送給親朋好友的伴手禮。

沖繩藝術體驗 首里琉染

沖繩縣那霸市首里山川町1-54

沖繩藝術體驗 首里琉染
沖繩縣那霸市首里山川町1-54
地圖資料
地圖資料©2018 Google, ZENRIN
地圖資料地圖資料©2018 Google, ZENRIN
地圖資料©2018 Google, ZENRIN
這個網頁無法正確載入 Google 地圖。
Do you own this website?

享用綿綿鬆鬆的白色泡泡!? 沖繩茶「泡泡茶專賣店 古都首里嘉例」

古都首里嘉例

「泡泡茶專賣店 古都首里嘉例」的店面距離首里城步行5分鐘處。可以自己動手打製沖繩傳統泡泡茶的泡沫,是熱門的輕食飲茶店。吸引許多做為在首里散步的人到此小歇。店名「嘉例」源於沖繩方言中「吉利」。此外,泡泡茶的日語諧音為「福福」,有多福之意,在琉球王國的時代,用於祈求航海安全,以及在慶祝的宴會上飲用。進入店內之後,可以看到許多陶瓷器與茶類相關商品等,都很適合選購做為伴手禮,在等待茶端上桌的過程裡,也能度過愉快購物時光。

泡泡茶

一開始會送上放入茶水的泡泡茶專用大型木鉢,再利用大型茶筅(茶刷)攪拌起泡。起泡的訣竅在於茶筅劃過水面的角度,讓空氣易於進入。沒多久就會開始出現大量的鬆綿泡沫,再將泡沫放到茶上。用雙手端著茶杯,飲用下層的茶。之所以容易形成立體的泡沫,據說是因為使用了全國名水百選之一,由垣花樋川流出的硬質地下水,富含礦物質,有益健康。泡泡茶總共有11種口味,熱門的口味是糙米茉莉花茶。此外還有藥草、艷山薑、朱槿花與檸檬草等種類。

體驗製作泡泡茶

而搭配茶的套餐甜點,則有金楚糕、田芋派和光餅等沖繩傳統點心與水果。一面飲茶,一面品嘗點心,更加突顯茶的美味。店裡有許多參觀完首里城之後來店的顧客,外國旅客為了接觸沖繩的文化與歷史,也可以穿上和服後,體驗製作泡泡茶(需預約)。來到沖繩本島時,請到此感受罕見的泡泡茶樂趣。

泡泡茶專賣店 古都首里嘉例

沖繩縣那霸市首里池端町9

泡泡茶專賣店 古都首里嘉例
沖繩縣那霸市首里池端町9
地圖資料
地圖資料©2018 Google, ZENRIN
地圖資料地圖資料©2018 Google, ZENRIN
地圖資料©2018 Google, ZENRIN
這個網頁無法正確載入 Google 地圖。
Do you own this website?

可以品嘗道地沖繩料理的「Iroha庭」

Iroha庭

在首里散步之後,「Iroha庭」也是個值得順道一遊的地方,在此可以品嘗到利用沖繩食材製作的道地沖繩料理。由首里城步行10分鐘即可抵達,以住宅翻修而成的店面,散發著悠閒的氣氛,可以在此放鬆一下。這家店積極地運用沖繩縣產食材製作料理,已被登錄為沖繩縣指定的「沖繩縣食材餐廳」。

守禮定食

每天店老闆都會自行採購食材,看到珍奇的食材,也會以當天特別料理的方式推出限定菜色。由於採用當令食材製作料理,可隨著季節不同享用到各式各樣的料理。晚餐時段的熱門菜色,是炒麩和鮪魚及島產辣韮佐塔塔醬、紅燒豬肉等,總共14道菜的「守禮定食」。如果點這道餐,就能一次享用各種道地的沖繩料理。紅燒豬肉是以沖繩縣產的紅豬肉烹調。肉質柔軟多汁,放入口中彷彿融化開來。肉質要燉煮到軟嫰,需要花費2天的時間,做成味噌口味,過程相當費工,目前沖繩地區也已很少人做這道料理。如果是第一次嘗試沖繩料理的人,這絕對是店老闆推薦的菜色。鮪魚及島產辣韮佐塔塔醬是將鮪魚表面炙烤過,搭配島產辣韮一起拌勻,再以沖繩的胡椒調味。微辣的香料風味,最適合做為下酒菜。酒類選項也很豐富,沖繩縣內的各種知名泡盛酒齊集一堂。備有玻璃杯、陶杯(沖繩的陶器)與琉球玻璃杯,可以自行選擇喜歡的杯子來盛裝飲料。盛裝料理的陶器餐具也相當引人注目。

Iroha庭

以住宅翻修而成的店內空間,設置了可以充分伸展腳部的下挖式暖爐桌,以及寬敞的榻榻米座墊區,無論是團體客或有幼兒同行的家庭,都可在此放心地用餐。從簷廊可以眺望庭園的風景,具有隱匿感的居家氣氛,讓人流連忘返。停車場可容納15輛車,開車前往也不用擔心。

沖繩料理 首里Iroha庭

沖繩縣那霸市首里金城町3-34-5

沖繩料理 首里Iroha庭
沖繩縣那霸市首里金城町3-34-5
地圖資料
地圖資料©2018 Google, ZENRIN
地圖資料地圖資料©2018 Google, ZENRIN
地圖資料©2018 Google, ZENRIN
這個網頁無法正確載入 Google 地圖。
Do you own this website?

您覺得以上內容如何呢?首里還有許多充滿魅力的景點。首里散步之際,不妨尋找看看您自己喜愛的的景點吧。

其他推薦特集

店舗検索